Christian and Gospel music stars from around the world were recently the talk of the town in Nashville when they descended upon Lipscomb University to tape the 50th Annual Dove Awards.


The Dove Awards is always a spectacular show, but The Gospel Music Association pulled out all the stops this year to celebrate its golden anniversary. The special evening shined a light on Christian and Gospel music’s rich and diverse history, and even showcased what the future of this music looks and sounds like. One of the highlights was a powerful tribute to Bill and Gloria Gaither. Jackie Patillo, President of the Gospel Music Association, noted how special this is as the Gaithers are Gospel music legends who for decades have used their gifts to uplift the love of God. Bill Gaither appeared on the very first Dove Awards and won Songwriter of the Year. This year, he was nominated again.


Steven Curtis Chapman, Amy Grant, CeCe Winans, and Michael W. Smith delivered an iconic performance. Casting Crowns, Matthew West, Hillsong Worship, Jekalyn Carr, MercyMe, Kelontae Gavin and many more lit up the stage throughout the evening.


TobyMac Performs During the 50th Annual Dove Awards

TobyMac opened the show with an electrifying performance. “There’s richness in diversity, and I’m seeing it tonight. It’s something we have to take into this world. We are required to share this love with the world. We are beautiful when we are together,” said TobyMac, who also took home the “Contemporary Christian Artist of the Year” trophy.


Some of the night’s big winners were songwriter Jason Ingram with four Dove Awards and superstar Lauren Daigle, who took home three awards. Daigle won awards for “Song of the Year,” “Artist of the Year” and “Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year.” Composer Wayne Haun along with producer Paul Mabury also won three awards while Gospel singer Kirk Franklin, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and Lecrae took two. First-time winners of the night included Aaron Cole, “New Artist of the Year,” Phil Wickham, “Worship Recorded Song of the Year,” and Keith and Kristyn Getty, “Inspirational Album of the Year.”


Watch The 50th Annual Dove Awards tonight at 8 p.m. EST on TBN.